Cerebral Palsy · Faith

Thoughts and Musings on My Cerebral Palsy and Faith

There are so many things people take for granted that I would give anything to be able to do: walk, run, dance without fear of looking strange. I would give anything to be able to walk down to the dock at the lake and dive in. And it’s so frustrating that I can’t.

It’s so frustrating that I have to wait for someone to come help me get down to the dock; it’s frustrating that I can’t go running with my dad. It’s frustrating that my cerebral palsy prevents me from being able to dance and have rhythm. As a result, I don’t dance because I’m afraid I’m just going to look strange and embarrass myself. But what frustrates me the most is that I can’t play sports. I LOVE sports. All of them-softball, volleyball, football, basketball. I would give anything to be able to play sports. Anything.

But as much as it frustrates me, I know there’s a bigger purpose for my disability than frustrating me. The Lord will use my CP somehow for His glory, whether that’s inspiring one person or impacting millions through my writing. My disability has given me a perspective on the world I wouldn’t have otherwise, and it’s something I’m so grateful. I know God will use it somehow. He has a plan for me, and for my life, just like he has a plan for you. So when things are tough or frustrating, we just have to remember that we serve a benevolent, loving God, and He will use our trial for something good. He has a plan. We just have to trust it.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts and Musings on My Cerebral Palsy and Faith

  1. Sometimes it is frustrating to alway need help to do things you would like to do on your own. There is beauty in it because through it you alway are surrounded by community of compassionate people who gladly serve expecting nothing in return. You get to see compassion at work and you provide others with an opportunity to serve. It is so much more fun to do things with others than by yourself.

    I don’t dance much, but if we were ever in the same place and there is good music on and you feel like dancing, ask me and I will out do you with looking strange on the dance floor. 🙂 Dancing is not all about looking cool, it’s about enjoying the music and having fun with friends and family.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a beautiful way of looking at it… Thank you! I’ve never thought about it that way. 🙂
      I don’t know, I’m tough competition for that! 🙂 But you’re exactly right! 🙂
      Thank you for always reading and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

