Faith · thoughts

Kate: My Friend, My Inspiration, My Angel


We lost her six months ago, and I still miss her. So much.

I miss her smile, her silly faces, her beautiful voice, and her kindness. She was so kind. And she spread it to everyone. She spread kindness, light, and love, and she gave me all three.

I met her on March 11th, 2016, at the Tim Tebow Foundation Celebrity Gala. Instantly I was struck by how beautiful she was, and the way the Lord’s light and love radiated off of her. She seemed strong. So strong. I knew right away that she was a fighter, she was a force to be reckoned with.

I’ll never forget the words I told her: “You’re so beautiful and we all love you. Never forget that.” I wrapped my arms around her and hugged her. I was so touched by her kindness. The next day, at the golf tournament, she came over to say hello and give me another hug. I listened to her mom tell a foundation staff member about her treatment, and how we could be praying for her. I remember thinking that I’d see her next year at the tournament, because I knew that Timmy and TTF would grant her a W15H, and she would be back for the W15H events. She would make it. Of that, I had no doubt.

She was never far from my mind, or my heart. After the tournament, I thought about her, I prayed for her, I told so many people about her, all the while keeping faith that she would beat her cancer.

To say I was ecstatic when I found out about her W15H was an understatement. If I could’ve jumped up and down, I would have. Immediately, I texted my contact with the foundation and sent her something I’d written to Kate, which she promised to share with her. That night, I found pictures of her brunch with Timmy that morning; she was smiling, she was happy, she was radiant. My heart soared. But that night, I also found something else: the Facebook page her mom had set up so she could chronicle Kate’s battle. It was through that page that I found something else: an address where I could write Kate letters.

So I wrote to her. I wrote to her, telling her how much she inspired me and encouraged me and she was always in my prayers. And I told her I loved her. Whether she got them or not, I don’t know, but I hope and pray she did and that they brought as much joy to her as they did to me.

The night she died, I didn’t sleep. I tossed and I turned and my mind whirled. The next morning, I got up and just cried. In my heart, I knew she was in a better place. Now, she’s healed, she’s free. That knowledge brought me comfort, but it didn’t ease my pain.

I write about her now and I share her story because I want to keep her light alive. I want others to know her story; I want people to know about her faith and her beauty and her strength. I want people to know about the little girl who touched my life, the little girl I will always be inspired by. A few days after we lost her, I made myself a promise: I would finish the book I’m writing for her. I’ll do it for her and I’ll dedicate it to her. I’ll dedicate it to her and I’ll share her story with the world. She will never be forgotten. I’ll make sure of that.
Kate, I love you and I miss you. So much. You’re my strength, you’re my encouragement, you’re my inspiration. And you always will be. You touched my life that night. I pray I’m living in a way that makes you smile and makes you proud, and please know that you’re always on my mind and always in my heart. I love you, beautiful angel.

3 thoughts on “Kate: My Friend, My Inspiration, My Angel

  1. You wrote a sweet and loving tribute to your friend. Straight from your heart, the best kind of writing. Kate’s story reminded me of a young friend we had here who also lost her battle with cancer, but oh, how the light of Jesus shined through her the entire time she was ill. Her mom found her journal and from time to time, shares the amazing thoughts of faith Caila wrote.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. Caila sounds amazing- we both have beautiful angels watching over us. ❤ It’s incredible to me how someone can be going through so much, yet still have the strongest, most unshakable faith.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

