Cerebral Palsy · My Writing

To Be Different is to Be Beautiful

I was scrolling through a document I created of all of the poems and writing prompts I’ve written on, and came across this poem I wrote last summer about how being different is beautiful, and wanted to share it with all of you.

I haven’t shared this too much on here, but for a long time, I was convinced that my cerebral palsy made me different in the worst way. I thought it made me strange; I thought it made me weird. I thought it meant there was something wrong with me. It took lots of love and encouragement from loved ones and faith in the Lord for me to finally change the way I thought, and this poem chronicles my journey from being insecure about being different to owning it, and seeing myself through God’s eyes. I hope you like it, and please let me know what you think in the comments! 😊

To Be Different is to Be Beautiful

To be different is to be beautiful;

To be unique is a gift

Being special means you can treat others in a special way,

To stand out is to ensure others’ memories of you will never fade


So embrace it

Forget the stares that follow you,

Force away the voices that lurk in the back of your mind

They’re wrong

You’re not weird,

You’re extraordinary

There’s nothing wrong with you,

You give off a light that shines as brightly as a ray of sunshine
Dance in it

Let your hair down,

Throw your hands in the air,

And let go

Dance as if your life depended on it

You’re free,

You’re strong,

You’re beautiful

So beautiful

So incredibly, breathtakingly beautiful

4 thoughts on “To Be Different is to Be Beautiful

Leave a Reply

