Cerebral Palsy · Faith

All Things Are Possible If You Believe- A Crutches Update


“If you can?” Jesus asked. “All things are possible for the one who believes.”
– Mark 9:23, NIV

I wrote in an earlier post about my dream to walk with crutches at graduation instead of my walker. This verse came to mind last night, after a practice session didn’t go as well as I wanted it to. I felt like I couldn’t get my balance; I couldn’t figure out the right rhythm, and would’ve eaten our hardwood floors several times had my father not been right behind me. But I also felt…. fire.

Fire to keep going, keep practicing, and keep trying. Fire to keep fighting for my dream. Because I know I can do it. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll be able to walk across the stage next May with my arms in crutches. I found myself thinking about what an amazing feeling that would be; I thought about how great it would be to show everyone that obstacles don’t have to limit you. I remembered how incredible it felt to stand with them on my own for the first time. I felt strong, I felt confident, and I felt like I had overcome my disability. In that moment, as I stood on my own with my crutches, I felt like I could do anything.

And as I lay in bed last night, the words of Mark 9:23 came to mind, as if He were telling me He thinks I can do it, too. It was a reminder that He’s right beside me, giving me strength and carrying me through this entire journey.

I can live this dream. I just have to believe.

7 thoughts on “All Things Are Possible If You Believe- A Crutches Update

  1. Amen. I admire your faith, Robyn. Truly πŸ™‚ Our father must be so pleased with your faith. He hears you. I’m looking forward to that day when I’ll read your update about completing what you set out to do in Christ…. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

