Faith · Florida Gators · thoughts

Blind Faith

Since I was six years old, it's been my dream to go to the University of Florida. I've always wanted to live in Gainesville-my favorite place on this planet- and truly be able to say, "I'm a Gator." But now that the time has come to start applying to schools, I'm not sure if I even want to submit an application.

You see, despite the fact that I've taken the ACT twice and the SAT once, my score isn't that great. It's not terrible, but it's not amazing, either. And since I made my first B last semester, my unweighted GPA is no longer a 4.0. Knowing that the chances of my getting into UF are slim, I haven't looked up when their application is due or what all they want in it. I don't want to get my hopes up just to have them shot down.

I want to make something clear: I'm not afraid to fail. That's not it at all. I don't want to set myself up for heartbreak. Because if I apply and then I find a letter in my mailbox that says, "Thank you for applying. However, we unfortunately cannot accept you at this time" my heart will shatter. I'll be crushed. If that happens, that means I'll have to sit there and watch my dream slip from my fingertips.

Yet I can't help but think God's put passion for the Gators in my heart for a reason. I can't help but think there's a reason I love Florida the way I do and Gainesville feels like home. There are no accidents. He does what He does for a reason, and He's got a plan that is good and perfect. There's a reason applying to UF has come up twice in as many days. There's a reason a little voice in the back of my head keeps whispering, "What if? What if it works?" In the words of one of my favorite Rascal Flatts songs, "I've seen You make miracles, and hopeless dreams come true/ You made the heavens and the stars/Everything/Come on, how hard would it be…" If He created this beautiful Earth, He can help me get into a college… Right?

Somehow, just writing this has helped calm the tumultuous wave of emotion I've been feeling. I'm not sure if I'll get in, but there's only one thing for me to do: Try. Take a breath and trust God. Sometimes, you have to take a leap of blind faith.

6 thoughts on “Blind Faith

  1. My daughter always wanted to go to Clemson. Her SAT and ACT scores were ok, but not at where they should have been against the other applicants. Her high school GPA was good. Her hopes were low about getting in against the competition. She was accepted. There was much prayer about it during this time and God gave my daughter the opportunity to go to Clemson.
    Follow your dream and leave the rest up to God!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My oldest now grown child applied to a very selective college fearful that her scores and grades weren’t good enough either. We prayed a lot, and she made a plan B and applied to two other schools while waiting to hear. But God put her right where He wanted her – in her first choice, that competitive school. He knows exactly where you need to be and if it’s being a Gator, He will make it happen!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robyn, follow your dream. But let me remind you that sometimes on the way to your ultimate goal, there are detours.
    In life, there is no perfect straight line.
    If you love Gainesville, and you are truly determined to be a Gator, then make it happen!
    Remember however there are other opportunities as well. One option is to go to Santa Fe College (also in Gainesville), earn your Associates with a high GPA, and transfer into UF.
    One thing cool about community/junior colleges is that a little athletes go that route. UF baseball has had several letter-winners come from SFC.
    I know it’s not the glamorous way you pictured things, but it’s an option and a good one at that in your quest for your ultimate goal.
    Believe in yourself, work your tail off, and the rest will fall into place.
    God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I’ve thought about that. I’d be okay doing that. We actually drove through Santa Fe’s campus last time we were in Gainesville, and I liked it. I like that it’s right by UF, so I could still go to sporting events and things like that. I don’t really care how I get to UF, as long as I can get there haha. Thanks for following my blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

