Cerebral Palsy, Faith

The Power of A W15H

I still remember where I was when my mom told me.

I was in our kitchen, staring at my computer screen, trying to make sense of an email. I was so focused on what I was doing that it took a moment for her words to sink in.

Tim Tebow’s foundation is granting your wish.”

Okay, great. They were- what?

I spun around in my chair to stare at my mom. “They are?”

When she nodded, I sat back in my chair, overcome with shock, disbelief, and complete excitement. For years, I had read articles about the Tim Tebow Foundation’s Wish 15 program. Through it, they make dreams come true for children with life threatening illnesses who want to spend time with Tim. Once, I came across an E:60 episode about Dylan, one of their W15H kids who has cerebral palsy. I watched it, overcome with amazement at Dylan’s story and blown away by how Tim and the foundation rolled the red carpet out for him. As it ended, I turned to my parents. “We could do that.”

Now, we were going to.

TTF Post

For years, I had looked up to Tim Tebow. My admiration had less to do with his accomplishments on the field and more to do with the way he achieved them. Never once did he complain about adversity or critics. And he always gave his all, whether he was running for a first down or preparing for the NFL Draft. His work ethic and determination inspired me as I went through physical therapy, Botox injections, and the numerous other challenges cerebral palsy brings. More than that, though, I loved how outspoken he was about his faith. He always gave glory and praise to God, regardless of the situation or what others might say about it. He quickly went from my favorite Florida player to my inspiration, and it was my dream to one day meet him and tell him that. Little did I know, God was going to turn that desire into a relationship I will always treasure.

My W15H weekend was everything I’d imagined and more. My family and I had dinner with Tim, were given a VIP tour of the College Football Hall of Fame, were Tim’s guests at SEC Nation-the SEC Network’s travelling pregame show- and took in the Alabama-Georgia game. It was such an incredible experience to be able to spend time with Tim, who is every bit as kind in person as he seems to be on TV. He and his foundation went out of their way to make me feel loved and special, and they treated my family and me as if we were the celebrities. It was a weekend I’ll remember for the rest of my life.

0120d14b-18f3-47e0-bec6-113a8c465e3a-1

One of the things that is so special about TTF to me is that they do more than just grant a W15H: you become part of their family. Since my W15H in October of 2015, the foundation has stayed in touch with us, continuing to keep us in their prayers and sharing faith, hope, and love with us however they can. Sometimes, that means sending encouraging Scripture; other times, it means creating more magical weekends for us, which is what they do every March when they welcome their W15H families to the annual Celebrity Golf Classic for a reunion. And through TTF, I have met countless people who are genuinely compassionate and kind- people I will always cherish and be grateful for.

2018 Gala Group Photo

At the 2018 Celebrity Gala with Tim, Eric Church, and a few of the amazing people I’ve met because of TTF.

A W15H is so much more than a weekend trip. It’s a time for God to shine, the beginning of friendships that will last a lifetime, and it’s a reminder that even the most challenging circumstances can yield the most beautiful blessings.

Timmy Hug 2018 Gala

Leave a comment