Cerebral Palsy, Florida Gators, thoughts

Where Gators Live

It’s beginning to feel real.

Earlier today, I moved into my dorm at the University of Florida. As I sat looking around at the tubs and boxes strewn about the room, I began to envision my freshman year. Watching football games at the Swamp on Saturdays. Going to volleyball games on Friday nights. Meeting new people, making new friends, and creating memories I’ll ultimately carry with me for the rest of my life.

My dorm highlights one of the things that makes UF special: its accommodations for those with disabilities. The dorms on my floor are completely handicapped accessible. All of my furniture will be adjusted so I can reach it, a tablet controls the lighting, thermostat, and shades, the bathroom is open and comes equipped with grab bars, and there’s a lift in the ceiling I can use to move around the entire room independently. Initially, I thought the lift would carry me, but I found out today that it would allow me to walk without using my walker. Two pieces sit snugly on my sides, lifting me up and easing the weight off my feet, thus allowing me to move freely. Now, instead of having to ask someone to get me a drink, I can get it on my own. The device will provide me with a sense of independence I’ve never had before, and who knows what that will enable me to do in the future?

Also in my dorm are two “bang bars”: vertical bars that perform the same function as the round handicapped buttons often seen outside stores and other public places. These, however, are more sensitive- all it takes is a tap of my pinkie and the door swings open. They’re everywhere- there’s one for my bathroom door and the door to the hall, one outside my room that I can use to get in, and they’re even inside the elevators. There’s one bar for each floor, and a bar that will open the elevator from the outside. Opening doors has always been a challenge for me. Doing so takes all my strength and effort, and even then, I still need assistance. But with these bang bars, I can go wherever I want to go with a tap of a finger. They may seem simple to someone just walking by, but they give me a special gift: freedom.

Dorms like mine must be everywhere, right? Wrong. UF is the only school in the southeast with this type of complex; the next closest is in Indiana (where it is entirely too cold). Several schools I toured weren’t options for me because they didn’t have the accommodations I needed to be able to go away to school on my own. Someone who knew this asked me once, “So if you weren’t going to Florida, where would you go?” And that’s the thing: I wouldn’t be able to go. I would be stuck at home, taking classes online. I’ve said this before: the effects of my disability are purely physical. It doesn’t affect my intelligence, and quite frankly, I think it’s sad that Florida is the only school with these kinds of accommodations. It’s the twenty-first century. An accessible university shouldn’t be a needle in a haystack. It should be as common as handicapped spaces in a parking lot.

21 thoughts on “Where Gators Live”

  1. Robyn, I’m so happy for you. I’m glad it’s all sinking in for you and I really hope you like everything you’ve come across and enjoy every new adventure as it happens.
    There used to be a sign inside the football stadium (it may even still be there), “Welcome to The Swamp”. We are glad you are here!
    *Fairly certain it said “This is The Swamp,” but you know what I’m saying!

    Like

    1. Thank you!!!! I really appreciate it. I know it won’t be perfect and it’ll take some adjusting at first, but it’s COMPLETELY worth it. Go Gators!

      Like

      1. Robyn, look me up on Facebook, would love to get to meet and go to sports events with you. Name is Brian Fox, Jr. I’ll send a message if I get the friend request to accept.

        Like

    2. Hey Robyn! Wow! So happy to know that you have everything that you need! You are one my heroes of the faith! Love you and miss you already!
      Mrs. T. E. Pitts

      Like

  2. Outstanding! So excited for you and also so proud of our UF! Thanks for sharing this! I look forward to your continued success and your description of your time on campus. Maybe I’ll meet you someday at a game! =)

    Like

  3. So happy to know that your dreams are coming true, Robyn! Best of luck at the University of Florida! 🐊 You are a blessing wherever you go!

    Like

  4. Hi Robyn, it’s so good to hear your are adjusting here at UF!! You are so eloquent and well spoken. I would love to hear from you and talk about all the sports media opportunities here on campus!
    Much Gator love,
    Ellory Fuqua (preview staff)

    Like

  5. Hello!! So excited for you and your new journey!! Can’t wait to hear about your successes-there will be many!! Your dream has come true!! I cannot say Go Gators, but I can say Go Robyn!!😃

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness, your dorm sounds wonderful and perfect for you. What exciting new adventures you’re going to have down there in Gator-land (I guess I should say the Swamp, huh?). Hooray for you, Robyn! Will keep you in my prayers still.

    Like

  7. I’m so happy for you! 😀 And your dorm sounds perfect. ❤

    I'm also surprised that the next closest university to have accommodations like that is Indiana. It really should be a common as handicapped parking spaces.

    Like

Leave a comment